Rebel Heart Review

picture-6 With Rebel Heart already released around the world and the U.S.A. release date just around the corner, I thought I would offer my own review of Madonna’s latest album. I have to admit, I downloaded the super deluxe edition of the album the second it leaked so I’ve had some time to simmer with it. First things first: It’s better than Madonna’s last two albums, MDNA and Hard Candy. I was listening to MDNA the other day and realized that, while not a bad album at all, it definitely could have used some editing. The same goes for Rebel Heart. The songwriting is a lot better on this album but at 23 songs on the super deluxe edition, it can be a little overwhelming. The super fan in me is grateful we got so many tracks. Part of me, though, thinks that a good trim of several songs would have made an even stronger album. Let’s get to it.

I think the first track, “Living For Love” is a great song. In my opinion, it’s Madonna’s best lead single in years. I originally preferred the first leaked demo version (I wish I could do a review of this album without mentioning the leaked demos but I can’t. They are just as much a part of Rebel Heart as the album versions are to anyone who was downloading them all as they leaked). I really liked the early ’90’s house vibe of it. However, I’ve really come to love the album version. I think it was the perfect choice for the first single and I am so disappointed that it hasn’t seen the success that it deserves.

The next song, “Devil Pray“, is definitely a grower. I don’t think that it’s the kind of song that people will get hooked on immediately, but the more they listen to it, the more they will want to sing along. I didn’t like all the drug references at first, but now I don’t mind them. It’s definitely not a single-worthy song but I think it’s a great track. Track #3, “Ghosttown” is one of the best songs on the album, if not the best. I think this song has the most hit potential of any Madonna song in years. Unfortunately, since Madonna is the artist I think there will be some resistance from the general public as there was for “Living For Love“. If “Ghosttown” were sung by a different (probably younger) artist, I think it would be a hit.

When I first read the spoiler about Madonna having a reggae-influenced song on the album I thought it was a huge mistake, so I was pleasantly surprised to hear how “Unapologetic Bitch” turned out. I really like it! There were rumors that this was considered to be the first single from Rebel Heart, which I think would have been a mistake, but I’m glad it’s here. Next up is “Illuminati“, which I have mixed feelings about. I think I preferred the demo version. The album version just seems kind of jarring and a bit out of place. There are elements I really like about it, though, and I do find myself listening to it without skipping it when I’m playing the album start to finish. However, I don’t really find myself saying “I really want to listen to “Illuminati” right about now”!

Talk about a change in the tide because I really grew to tolerate “Bitch I’m Madonna“! When I first heard it, I said it was one of the worst things Madonna had ever recorded. I definitely don’t think that anymore. Granted, I don’t love this song, but now I think it’s OK. The lyrics are definitely very juvenile but I’m sure Madonna will have a lot of fun with this one on tour. I’ve caught myself humming it a couple of times so I guess it’s not as bad as I originally thought. Track #7 is “Hold Tight“, which I think is better on the album than it was in demo form. The beginning reminds me of the beginning of 1998’s “The Power Of Good-bye“. For some reason, I feel like this one may be an upcoming single…

I feel like “Joan Of Arc” should have been left more like the demo, which I feel was more vulnerable without the extra beats during the chorus. However, I still love this song so I will take it any way. The next song “Iconic“, is not bad, it’s pretty catchy. Not a fan of the rapping. I think I would like it more without it. After that, we get to “HeartBreakCity“, which I loved as soon as I heard the demo. I am SO glad she got rid of that final line that the demo had (“and I still feel shitty”) because it almost ruined the song for me. When I heard that the album version omitted it I think I actually clapped! Anyway, a great, somber ballad.

Body Shop” was a song that I originally didn’t care for when I heard the demo, but all the extra little nuances and musical embellishments that they added made me really fall in love with it. Yeah, the lyrics are silly, but I love it. Definitely one of my favorites on the album. “Holy Water” is up next and much improved from the demo version. Some of the lyrics are cringe-worthy but the production makes up for it in my opinion, and the “Vogue” sample makes the song. This is my guilty-pleasure song on the album. Interested to see this one on tour.

Inside Out“…I love it. I do have to say though, I think I still prefer the demo (which reminded me of a blissful pop fusion of Bjork’s “Army Of Me” and Coldplay’s “The Scientist” musically), but I do love this album version. A well-written song will shine in any form, and that bridge is euphoric. Part of me wishes this would be a single but it might not be since “Ghosttown” is being released and they both might be seen as too similar. The final track on the standard edition of Rebel Heart is “Wash All Over Me“, which I also love and is a fitting closer to the album. I did love the original dance demo, but I’m not too disappointed that she ultimately chose to make this a slow song.

The first track on the deluxe edition is “Best Night“, which I’ve really come to like. I actually think this song deserved to be on the standard edition instead of being just a bonus track. I love the mood of it as it reminds me of the Erotica album. Next up is “Veni Vidi Vici“. I LOVED this song when I heard the demo. Madonna self-referencing her past work in a song? When the hell does that happen? What planet is this? I was in love! Then we learn that the album version features a rap by Nas and I am instantly disappointed. It turns into a song about the both of them instead of just Madonna. Big mistake, in my opinion. Oh well.

Then we get to the worst song on the album, and Madonna’s worst song in years. I can usually find something positive to say about any Madonna song that I don’t really like, but “S.E.X.” is an unnecessary stain on an otherwise great album. The lyrics are beyond embarrassing. “Oh my god, you’re so hot!”. Seriously? Musically, the song has nothing to offer either, in my opinion. The spoken part where she starts talking about golden showers, latex thongs and strap-ons is the most unsexy thing she has ever sung.

Next up is “Messiah“, which I feel like I should like…but I kind of don’t and I’m not sure why. It’s a bit boring to me. I don’t think it’s a bad song, but for some reason I usually want to skip it. I’m listening to it as I write this, and I know it’s a decent song. The strings sound beautiful. I just don’t know why I can’t get into it. The final song on the super deluxe edition is track #19, “Rebel Heart“, which is a great song. Love it. I loved the original demo as well but it works great as an acoustic track. I do think it should have been on the standard album. What kind of album is missing the title track?!

Lastly, we get to the super deluxe edition with 4 more songs (this is a lot of songs, folks!). Luckily, they are all good. “Beautiful Scars” is one of my favorite songs on the album. I loved the demo and love the album version even more. I’m sad that it’s been relegated to super deluxe bonus track status but at least we got it at all! “Borrowed Time” and “Graffiti Heart” are both great tracks, especially the former. Madonna could have made an entire album with just the “freedom fighter” type tracks and it would have been amazing. Actually, judging from her promo interviews, she did say that she had originally planned to release a double disc album with the ‘rebel’ tracks on one disc and the ‘heart’ tracks on the other. I think that would have been a great idea. “Addicted” is my least favorite of the 4 bonus, bonus tracks but I still do like it. Featured as an extra track on some German pressings is “Auto-tune Baby“.  I think this song is a nice little extra to have. The chorus is very sing-along-y. Clearly it shouldn’t have been on the album proper, so it is what it is.

Overall I have to say that I am very satisfied with this album. I give it an overall rating of 8.5/10. The only major complaint I have is that the song “Queen” was removed from the final track listing at the last minute. Honestly, it should have replaced “S.E.X“. Anyway, thanks for reading my review. I’m really looking forward to seeing how my opinions of the songs change over time, which usually happens.

Until next time!

-Albert

Leave a comment